When you send a message, it moves through different states in Notify.
This means that we have accepted the message and are sending it to our delivery providers.
You’ll see this when Notify has successfully delivered a message to user’s email inbox or phone.
Notify will not tell you if a user has opened or read a message.
You will see this when Notify sends a text message to an international number, but mobile networks in that country don’t provide delivery receipts.
Phone number or email address does not exist
You will see this when Notify could not deliver a message because the email address or phone number was wrong.
You should remove these email addresses or phone numbers from your database.
You will still be charged for text messages to numbers that do not exist.
Inbox/phone not accepting messages right now
You will see this if Notify cannot deliver an email or text message after trying for 72 hours.
This might happen for a number of reasons. For example, the user’s inbox might be full, or their phone might be turned off.
You can try sending the message again if you want.
You will still be charged for text messages to phones that are not accepting messages.
A technical failure means there’s a problem between Notify and our delivery providers.
You will have to try sending your messages again.
You will not be charged for text messages that are affected by a technical failure.
You can choose an email address you want replies to go to.
You can contact us if you want to be able to receive text messages.
When you have done this, users will be able to reply to text messages you send them. They will also be able to start an interaction by sending you a text message.
You will be able to see and reply to text messages you receive. You can also create automated processes to manage replies.
You will still need to have a manual process in place for any messages that can’t be dealt with automatically.
Multiple services in one organisation
If your organisation offers multiple services, you can have a different Notify account for each of them.
- gets its own free message allowance
- has to request to go live separately